Old Skool Swing Album With Paul Furniss


Hi, Greg Poppleton (that’s me – blog author) leads a couple of jazz bands.

One is Greg Poppleton and the Bakelite Broadcasters.

We’ve just released a 15 track digital download swing album.

It’s called ‘Sweet Sue‘.

All the songs on this album are played live to tape in one go. It was just like the band and I were on a stage. You were in the audience, mobile in one hand, cigarette lighter waving in the other, suzie-q-ing at the same time, mixing decades as I do.

It was such a teeny tiny venue we piled into. I had to lower my voice so my singing didn’t spill into the instrument mikes. Very intimate. Gives the vocals a kind of ‘breaking the stereotype sweet edge’ on songs like the St Louis Blues.

And a southern gentleman strolls in on the second half of Carolina In The Morning. Don’t know where he came from but I instantly liked him and he’s stayed in the act ever since.

I believe in never playing the same song the same way twice, because I can’t. So I’ve put in alternative takes of a couple of songs for you. The drummer went all tango in the third chorus of one take of Am I Blue.

We sincerely trust you’ll enjoy, ‘Sweet Sue.’ And if you do, contribute. Buy a track, or two, or the whole album. Huzzah!

Big thanks to…
Saxes (soprano / alto / tenor) and Clarinet – Paul Furniss
Trumpet and Trombone – Al Davey
Guitar – Grahame Conlon
Double Bass – Darcy Wright
Double Bass – Mark Harris
Drums – Lawrie Thompson

Check it out on Bandcamp: http://gregpoppletonandhisbakelitebroadcasters.bandcamp.com/

 

Sweet Sue, the latest swing album by Greg Poppleton and the Bakelite Broadcasters on Bandcamp
Sweet Sue, the latest swing album by Greg Poppleton and the Bakelite Broadcasters on Bandcamp. My 10 year old son drew the cover during the last school holidays.

 

Leave a Reply

