Photos From The Cronulla RSL 17 Jan 2016 Show – Greg Poppleton and the Bakelite Broadcasters


Thank you to all of you who came to listen and dance to, Greg Poppleton and the Bakelite Broadcasters, at Sunday Jazz in Cronulla RSL, Sunday 17 January.

Good to see so many dancers. And flattering to have so many photos and so much film taken. I wonder if any of it will end up on YouTube?

In Greg Poppleton and the Bakelite Broadcasters at Cronulla were:
Greg Poppleton – authentic 1920s – 1930s vocals
Grahame Conlon – guitar and banjo
Greg Chilcott – trombone and sousaphone
Alex Inman-Hislop – drums

As always I took some happy snaps for you. I’ve posted them  for you below.

And a big thank you to everyone in the audience who called out ‘Cheese’ on the count of three when I took a selfie. You’ll see the result is very cheesy and at the very bottom of this post.

We look forward to playing swing and jazz from the 1920s and 1930s for you at Cronulla RSL again soon.

In the meantime, we open for the first 1920s Gin Mill Social of 2016 at Slide Cabaret, 41 Oxford St Surry Hills this Friday 22 Jan.

Tickets, including 3 course meal, complimentary gin on arrival, a night of music, juggling and acrobatics are available HERE. It’s the third big year for Sydney’s premier Roaring 20s themed event, The Gin Mill Social.

Now, to book Greg Poppleton and the Bakelite Broadcasters for your wedding, birthday party, corporate event or any occasion, please contact the very friendly and helpful Tony Jex 61 2 9567 7171 | 0407 941 263 | tony@ozmanagement.com

Here are the 17 January Cronulla show pix…

At Cronulla RSL, Greg Poppleton and the Bakelite Broadcasters play in a room with a view. A perfect summer day on Cronulla Beach looking out to Wanda Beach and the dunes.
At Cronulla RSL, Greg Poppleton and the Bakelite Broadcasters, play in a room with a view. A perfect summer day looking out from Cronulla RSL to Wanda Beach and the dunes.

 

Surf, sun, sand and surf lifesavers in the distinctive yellow and red tent. Cronulla Beach from the room where Greg Poppleton and the Bakelite Broadcasters played the songs of the 1920s and 1930s for dancers.
Surf, sun, sand and surf lifesavers in the distinctive yellow and red tent. Cronulla Beach from the room where Greg Poppleton and the Bakelite Broadcasters, play the songs of the 1920s and 1930s for dancers.

 

A snap of the band I took during the band instrumental, Indiana. I stepped in for a chorus of altered lyrics I made up on the spot, "Back home again in Cronunula / And I think that I can see / A flickering neon light / Still burning bright / Through the eucalypts for me / The new raked beach sends all its fragrance / 'Cross the dunes I used to roam / When I dream about the moonlight over Kurnell / Then I long for my Cronunulla home!"
A snap of the band I took during an instrumental version of Indiana – though I did step in for a chorus of altered lyrics which I made up on the spot especially for the occasion, “Back home again in Cronunulla / And I think that I can see / A flickering neon light / Still shining bright / Through the eucalypts at me / The new raked beach / Sends all its fragrance / ‘Cross the dunes I used to roam / When I dream about the moonlight over Kurnell / Then I long for my Cronunulla home!”

 

And now meet the members of the band individually…

Greg Chilcott on the trombone and...
Greg Chilcott on the trombone and…
...on the sousaphone.
…on the sousaphone.

 

Grahame Conlon on the banjo and guitar
Grahame Conlon on the banjo and guitar

 

Alex Inman-Hislop on the drums
Alex Inman-Hislop on the drums

 

Greg Poppleton - authentic 1920s - 1930s singer. The audience called out 'Cheese' on the count of three and a selfie was born!
Greg Poppleton – authentic 1920s – 1930s singer. The audience called out ‘Cheese’ on the count of three and a selfie was born!

Remember, to book Greg Poppleton and the Bakelite Broadcasters for your wedding, birthday party, corporate event or any occasion, contact the very friendly and helpful Tony Jex 61 2 9567 7171 | 0407 941 263 | tony@ozmanagement.com

Join the mailing list.

One Reply to “Photos From The Cronulla RSL 17 Jan 2016 Show – Greg Poppleton and the Bakelite Broadcasters”

Leave a Reply

